Standards Work on SOA Kicks Off

New industry group to focus on promoting the adoption of SOA specifications

April 14, 2007

2 Min Read
Network Computing logo

The vendor-backed Organization for the Advancement of Structured Information Standards (OASIS) disclosed plans this week to create a new group to advance and promote SOA (service-oriented architecture) standards development.

The Open Composite Services Architecture (Open CSA) initiative will focus its work on the Service Component Architecture (SCA) and Service Data Objects (SDO) specifications without requiring developers to pay royalties to access those standards.The SCA and SDO specs were developed by 18 software vendors to provide a vendor-neutral foundation for SOA. SCA provides a common set of descriptions programmers can use to create reusable services to meet specific business needs. SDO gives developers a way to pull together data from multiple sources including databases, XML data sources, Web services and enterprise systems.

OASIS said the Open CSA member section will administer new OASIS working groups for the SCA and SDO specs. Charter members of the Open CSA Member group include Active Endpoints, Avaya, BEA Systems, Hitachi, IBM, Oracle, Primeton, Progress Software, Red Hat, Rogue Wave Software, SAP, SOA Software, Sun Microsystems, TIBCO and Xcalia.


Stay informed! Sign up to get expert advice and insight delivered direct to your inbox

You May Also Like

More Insights