Network Computing is part of the Informa Tech Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Apple Picks Bioinformatics Award

Apple Computer yesterday (June 29) announced the five winners of its Cluster for Bioinformatics Award. Each winner will receive a high-powered Mac system to assist them in furthering their research.

Earlier in the year, Apple hosted an open call for applications, to which hundred responded, according to the company.

The award winners are:

  • Dr. Deborah Dean, Children's Hospital Oakland Research Institute.
  • Dr. Edward DeLong, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • Dr. Christopher Lee, University of California, Los Angeles
  • Dr. Simon Lin, Duke University
  • Dr. Michael Newton, Dr. Douglas Bates, Dr. Sunduz Keles, Dr. Christina Kendziorski and Dr. Bret Larget, University of Wisconsin, Madison

    Each of the winners' institutions will receive a 4-node Apple Workgroup Cluster, which includes four dual-processor Xserve G5s with 2GB RAM; BioTeam iNquiry, including 200 pre-installed bioinformatics applications;
    XtremeMac Xrack Pro sound-suppressing enclosure; APC Smart-UPS 2200 VA power supply; Asante GX5-800 Gigabit Ethernet switch; service and support.