Network Computing is part of the Informa Tech Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Liquidware Labs Provides New 'No Data Left Behind' Data Migration Capabilities

ATLANTA and COPENHAGEN, Denmark, Oct. 12. Liquidware Labs , the leader in Assessment, Migration, and User Experience Management for next generation desktops, today announced expanded migration functionality within Liquidware Labs ProfileUnity, allowing for seamless migration of user data when upgrading to next generation desktops.

User data, including documents, design files, and other intellectual property, are often left behind when users are upgraded to new or virtual desktops. Without a comprehensive, pre-planned migration plan for this data, users are often left to their own devices and typically either don't migrate data, or use ad-hoc solutions such as jump drives, CDs or other portable, unsecured media. As a result, IT is left scrambling to find data on retired machines when the help desk calls come in.

ProfileUnity requires no software to be installed to end-points and features a database-free architecture that empowers both users and administrators of desktop populations to elegantly migrate the "good will" that exists on their present desktops [settings, profiles, and data] to their next generation desktop.

Previously, ProfileUnity could migrate user authored data from the user profile area of Windows. In v4.6.6, available immediately, ProfileUnity can now migrate any specified file type or directory from any location on legacy desktops in the enterprise to users' secure network file shares. Administrators can specify the file name or path to migrate data from, and can also exclude specified file types from migration.  

With the expanded data migration capabilities of ProfileUnity, IT can proactively backup any data type or file to a pre-determined network location before the migration occurs, and remap the default 'save to' location to the same network drive going forward. This ensures that data best practices are continued after migration, without any inconvenience to the end user.

  • 1