• 09/23/2013
    4:57 PM
  • Rating: 
    0 votes
    Vote up!
    Vote down!

LinkedIn Tip: How To Undo Contact Imports, Invitations

If you accidentally uploaded your contacts to LinkedIn or sent invitations to connect, follow these instructions to undo.

Four LinkedIn users filed a class-action complaint in a San Jose, Calif., federal court last week, accusing the company of breaking into member email accounts and uploading their address books.

The plaintiffs said that LinkedIn sends multiple emails endorsing its products, services and brand to potential new users whose email addresses LinkedIn "surreptitiously obtained" as part of its effort to acquire potential new users, according to the complaint. They also claimed that the professional social network sends additional emails to those email addresses when those users don't sign up for a LinkedIn account. LinkedIn has since denied the allegations.

Whether the lawsuit is successful, one thing is clear: LinkedIn makes it easy to invite everyone you know to connect, and hard to undo it.

When you sign up for an account on LinkedIn, the company prompts you to import email addresses from your personal email account in order to build up your network. You can also find the option by clicking "Network" and then "Add contacts" from the menu at the top if you're already a LinkedIn member. If you proceed, you might or might not be asked for your email's password, depending on whether you're already logged in elsewhere.

LinkedIn first generates a list of people from your address book that are already LinkedIn members. By default, the "Select All" option is checked, so if you proceed, everyone will be sent a message on your behalf asking them to connect with you.




The second step lists all the people in your email account's address book who aren't LinkedIn members. Once again, all names are automatically checked. If you proceed, LinkedIn will send them all emails to join the social network. If you don't want LinkedIn to send them all messages, you need to uncheck the "Select All" option or click "Skip this step."

How To Withdraw Invitations

If you have inadvertently sent invitations to connect with everyone in your email account's address book, you might still be able to rescind those invitations. To do this, the invitations must not be expired and your contact must not have already taken action on the invitation.

To rescind an invitation, click the Inbox icon (an image of an envelope) at the top right of your home page, then click "Sent" on the left. Choose the "Sent Invitations" tab under the top navigation bar and find an invitation without "Accepted" next to the name. Then, click the subject line of the invitation and click "Withdraw."

If the Withdraw button isn't there, the invitation cannot be withdrawn. Contacts whose invitations you withdraw will not be notified you have done so. You can always resend another invitation if you decide you want to connect with them later.

How To Remove Imported Contacts

If you have already uploaded your contacts from your email's address book to LinkedIn and want to remove this list of people from the social network, you can do so by clicking "Network" from the menu at the top and selecting "Contacts." Next, click "Imported Contacts."

If you want to remove all the contacts you have uploaded, make sure the "Select All" box is checked. If you only want to remove certain contacts, uncheck that box and choose the individuals you want to remove. Then, at the bottom of the page, click "Delete selected contacts." LinkedIn will confirm in a separate box that you want to delete the selected contacts.


re: LinkedIn Tip: How To Undo Contact Imports, Invitations

At the same time that they send it easy to send large #s of invitations, LinkedIn will also suspend your account if you're too aggressive about it - if too many of the people receiving the invitations decline them and say they don't know you. I confess I know this because I've stepped over the line on occasion (in my experience, apologizing to the LinkedIn support desk for these issues was enough to get myself rehabilitated). Much as you'd like to grow your LinkedIn network, it does pay to be selective and build a quality professional network.

re: LinkedIn Tip: How To Undo Contact Imports, Invitations

I have to wonder if one of two things could have happened:

#1 - was here an aggressive LinkedIn employee who went beyond TOS and used member contact info improperly?

#2 - Did these members not pay attention and errantly sent out LinkedIn connect requests (with LinkedIn marketing info attached) to their contacts?

I hope it's not a deliberate LinkedIn failure.

LinkedIn has worst UX design & deliberately abusive practices

Enough has been written about LinkedIN's many terrible policies. But, I wanted to share their current version of instructions for removing Imported Contacts... and even their own instructions refer to links/buttons that do not appear at the page.

The mentally challenged UX design approach is clear from you needing to go to the ADD Contacts to DELETE those contacts. Yes, just like Microsoft's approach to UX since the Start menu to Shutdown the computer.

Once you do find the list, LinkedIN makes you do a Select All TWENTY SIX times for each alphabetic listing. There is no Delete All for Select ALL Meaning ALL. I despise their user experience, their still beneath contempt poor coding that shows wrong number of notifications and messages and so on.

Here are the instructions from their site:

To delete an imported contact from your address book:
Move your cursor over My Network at the top of your homepage and select Add Contacts.
Click the Manage imported contacts link or click the Settings icon in the top right.
Check the box next to the contact you want to delete.
Click the Delete selected contacts button near the bottom of the page.

I will surely post more about this and screenshots at UX & UI Design Are Not Rocket Science, at .